• My Top 5 Artist Tips

My Top 5 Artist Tips:

1) Look after your brushes, as they could last decades if you do:

The Masters brush cleaner, but any good quality brush cleaner is best. I advise this as using washing up liquid or soap to remove acrylic paint makes your brushes dry and brittle. In addition, you can purchase brush cleaners that can remove old dry paint embedded in the bristles. Always worth a try!

The moto is… If you look after your brushes, they will look after you!

2) Your paint palettes do not have to cost the earth:

 I use two cheap paint palette from Tesco that I mix my acrylics together and water down which is very light to handle when painting. Some palettes are expensive, some are called “ultimate palettes”, but I always feel that weight and cost are important. I use light palettes as that what suits me. Just remember there is a palette for everyone!

Paint palettes don't need to be expensive

3) Make sure you 100% dry and clean palette knives:

 In my experience metal palette knives corrode/ rust due to water and mainly paint, as paint drys slowly it corrodes the metal. Clean as much paint off the knives is key. Plastic palette knives can be an alternative but they are not as long lasting.

The smallest palette knife is rusty as I didnt look after it
The smallest palette knife (top right) is rusty as I didnt look after it properly.

4) There is a vast range of products available:

I always used basic Daler Rowney acrylic paints, but they have released a 3D or impasto paint. This is an amazing product and something worth trying.

wp-1463932603080.png
System 3 Daler Rowney 3D Acrylic Paint
wp-1463932606987.jpg
Liquitex Texture Range for Acrylic Paints

wp-1463932611597.jpg

5) Start a sketch book:

This is something that I learned during studying for my Art and Design Access Diploma. It makes a huge difference and allows you to ‘brain dump’. I can sketch ideas, add images that catch my eye, if you paint something you can add the artwork or a photograph. In addition, you can add images of all your artworks, good and bad.  I think of it as a visual diary. Mine is below:

Sketch Book - Laura H Elliott BA (Hons) Art

Above: I have a folder with every piece of artwork I have created, good or bad. On the left is my folder with designs and photographs. In addition, I keep a copy of any news articles, interviews and my business cards.


All artworks & designs displayed are © Copyright by artist Laura H Elliott BA (Hons), Dip.

View my professional gallery of works at:

View my work quick link @ http://www.lhe-art.co.uk

 Facebook https://www.facebook.com/laurahelliottart

Twitter @laurahelliott

Pintrest https://www.pinterest.com/lauraelliottart/

Linked In https://uk.linkedin.com/pub/laura-elliott-ba-hons/6b/959/533


Leave a comment