• Out With The Old, In With The New

Out With The Old, In With The New

Over time, every artist has stock and it can be frustrating that paintings can sit and take up valuable space. We all know artists always have alot of canvases, clay, tools, brushes and I count myself as one of them!I was reviewing my work, from past and present and found stored canvases. I decided to take the following saying literally:“Out With the Old, In with the new”Masters, past and present, have often be known to roll their paintings for them to be stored and then later framed or re-mounted onto canvas stretchers.I have done exactly that. Clear out the old and welcome in my new work. I have stacked up each painting (as below) and they have been rolled for storage and possible later to be exhibited, framed and/or sold.

Once the canvas has been un-mounted or freed from, you are left with lots of staples and the stretcher bars.

The frame of the canvas are created mainly from wood and are nearly the same design that has been used for decades. Even Van Gough used such stretcher bars. Here are examples of what joined stretcher bars look like up-close:

Once the bars have been carefully seperated, taking care to not damage the joints, they can then be bundled together for storage.

Above: Stretcher Bars Bundled From Pre-Stretched Old Canvases

This means I have beautiful wooden frames to use for new paintings. They can have any manner of canvas or material streched on them. You can buy raw canvas which are undyed and hold a special pattern within the weave. I have personally sourced the following. You can also dye the canvas for you to achieve the colour.

I am aiming to dye the raw natural linen material using powdered flourescent colour pigment powders, similar to Brusho pigment powders.

We will see what the future holds and what transpires in my journey to…..“Out With the Old, In With the New”So…what is next???? See my new wave below…


All artworks & designs displayed are © Copyright by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons), Dip.

Buy my work online @ http://www.lhe-art.co.uk

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/laurahelliottart

Twitter @laurahelliott

Pintrest https://www.pinterest.com/lauraelliottart/

Linked In https://uk.linkedin.com/pub/laura-elliott-ba-hons/6b/959/533

#art #britishlandscapes #britain #landscapes #buybritish #laurahelliottart #laurahelliott #lhe #painting #metalclay #gemstones #artgallery #gallery #flux #fluxexhibition #degreeart #degreeartgallery #painting #artlover #artist #artwork #artcollector #contemporaryart #originalart #ownart #rca #contemporaryart #originalart #commissionart #buyart #buyartonline