• Making My Trees Shine

Making My Trees Shine

It was really by accident in 2008 that I found an effect for my work which added an extra depth to my trees in the Landscape Moods mixed media paintings.

The highlights in gloss and the low lights in matte add texture, dimension and detail. The painting below shows the matte and gloss effect which makes the tree shine:

'Dawn' sold by Degree Art Gallery
‘Dawn’ sold by Degree Art Gallery

The image below shows the clear contrast between the matte and gloss effect in the painting:

'Dawn' Detail showing the contrast detail of matt and gloss acrylic paint
‘Dawn’ Detail showing the contrast detail of Matt and gloss acrylic paint

Here are close-up examples of textural effects within my paintings:

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The search I have had this Summer 2016 is to re-produce or develop this effect further. My work has been including ideas and concepts of my inner self, values and heritage.

For example, I am eternally grateful and proud of my family who have worked hard to provide and serve their country home and abroad in WW1 and WW2. These influences have impacted on both the composition, colour choices and the titles of each artwork.

Scottish Pride (detail) by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)
Scottish Pride (detail) by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)

The following painting is in honor of the determination of the British during the two World War, titled ‘Standing Strong’:

Standing Strong by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)
Standing Strong by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)

The beauty in each of the paintings is that each artwork looks different at different angles and different lights.

Fire in the Sky by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)
Fire in the Sky by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)

I drew this idea from my late Nana. She used to tell me that I was cheeky and opinionated, something we had in common. I have always thought that Pixies encompass mischief and this is non more so shown in Tinkerbell in Peter Pan. I feel that my playful side of both my late Nana and I reflect in this tiny figure. In addition, my late Nana was born in Glasgow and it reflects the Celtic folklore that was a huge part of my Nana’s upbringing.

Pixie Moon by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)
Pixie Moon by Laura H Elliott BA (Hons)

Pixies are generally mischievous, short of stature and childlike, who inhabit ancestor sites as found in Scottish Celtic folklore. Sitting on the tree lit by moonlight, she sits waiting to find mischief. This little, charming character represents my Nana, who was always in mischief as a child just like her mother reminded her. This mischievous little figure represents my own cheeky, talkative and mischievous aspect to my personality, with a Gothic hint reflecting my love of heavy metal music.

Other artworks I have created this Summer 2016 include ideas such as: strength, storytelling (something I love doing), standing strong and the influence of books I read as a child (Jack and the Beanstalk, Peter Pan and Snow White.


All artworks & designs displayed are © Copyright by artist Laura H Elliott BA (Hons), Dip.

Quick Link @ http://www.lhe-art.co.uk

Blog Web: https://laurahelliott.wordpress.com

Facebook https://www.facebook.com/laurahelliottart

Twitter @laurahelliott

Pintrest https://www.pinterest.com/lauraelliottart/

Linked In https://uk.linkedin.com/pub/laura-elliott-ba-hons/6b/959/533


Leave a comment